National Assembly votes for new Speaker

Members of Parliament are electing a new National Assembly Speaker after Thandi Modise was moved into President Cyril Ramaphosa's reshuffled Cabinet as the new Minister of Defence. The African National Congress has nominated Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula as its preferred candidate, while the DA nominated Annelie Lotriet.