'Joker' leads Bafta nominations

The Bafta ceremony - which will be hosted by Graham Norton - will take place on 2 February at London's Royal Albert Hall.

Loner Arthur Fleck, played by Joaquin Phoenix, in the movie 'Joker'. Picture: Joker Movie/Facebook.

LONDON - Joker leads this year's Bafta Award nominations with 11, while both The Irishman and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood have 10.

The Todd Phillips-directed origins story leads the way for this year's ceremony, making the shortlist for the coveted Best Picture accolade, as well as Leading Actor for Joaquin Phoenix, Director, Adapted Screenplay and a number of technical categories including for production design and hair and make-up.

Following shortly behind Joker, both The Irishman and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood have received 10 nominations.

They will also contest for Best Picture, alongside 1917 - which is up for nine awards in total - and Parasite.

Joining Joaquin in the Leading Actor category were Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood), Adam Driver (Marriage Story), Taron Egerton (Rocketman) and Jonathan Pryce (The Two Popes), while Leading Actress will be contested between Jessie Buckley (Wild Rose), Charlize Theron (Bombshell), Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story), Saoirse Ronan (Little Women) and Renee Zellweger (Judy).

The Irishman actors Al Pacino and Joe Pesci will go head-to-head in the Supporting Actor category, but they face competition from Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood), Sir Anthony Hopkins (The Two Popes) and Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood) for the gong.

Margot Robbie has been nominated twice in the Supporting Actress category, for her work on both Bombshell and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, with the category completed by nods for Laura Dern (Marriage Story), Florence Pugh (Little Women), and Scarlett Johansson (Jojo Rabbit).

Outstanding British Film will be contested by 1917, Bait, For Sama, Rocketman, Sorry We Missed You, and The Two Popes.

On Monday, the nominees for the publicly-voted EE Rising Star Award were announced yesterday as Awkwafina, Jack Lowden, Kaitlyn Dever, Kelvin Harrison Jr, and Micheal Ward.

The nominations for the EE Bafta Awards were announced by Ella Balinska and Asa Butterfield at Bafta Piccadilly in London.

The ceremony - which will be hosted by Graham Norton - will take place on 2 February at London's Royal Albert Hall.

EE Bafta Awards 2020 selected list of nominations:

Best Film:


The Irishman


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood



Sam Mendes, 1917

Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Todd Phillips, Joker

Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Bong Joon-Ho, Parasite

Leading Actor:

Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Leading Actress:

Jesse Buckley, Wild Rose

Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Saoirse Ronan, Little Women

Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Renée Zellweger, Judy

Supporting Actor:

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes

Al Pacino, The Irishman

Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Supporting Actress:

Laura Dern, Marriage Story

Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit

Florence Pugh, Little Women

Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Original Screenplay:

Booksmart - Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins & Katie Silberman

Knives Out - Rian Johnson

Marriage Story - Noah Baumbach

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood - Quentin Tarantino

Parasite - Han Jin Won & Bong Joon-ho

Adapted Screenplay:

The Irishman - Steve Zaillian

Jojo Rabbit - Taika Waititi

Joker - Todd Phillips and Scott Silver

Little Women - Greta Gerwig

The Two Popes - Anthony McCarten

Outstanding British Film:



For Sama


Sorry We Missed You

The Two Popes

Film Not in the English Language:

The Farewell

For Sama

Pain and Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Animated Film:

Frozen 2


A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Toy Story 4

EE Rising Star Award:


Kaitlyn Dever

Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Jack Lowden

Micheal Ward