Semenya, Horn in action in Monaco Diamond League meet

Caster Semenya and sprinters Luxolo Adams and Carina Horn will compete at the IAAF Diamond League series in Monaco on Friday.

FILE: Caster Semenya wins the women's 800m event at the Oslo Diamon League meeting on 7 June 2018. Picture: @Diamond_League/Twitter

JOHANNESBURG - Middle-distance runner Caster Semenya will be eager to stamp her authority even further on the Women's 800m event, while sprinters Luxolo Adams and Carina Horn will take on some of the fastest athletes on the international circuit when they compete at the 10th leg of the IAAF Diamond League series in Monaco on Friday evening.

Fresh off her spectacular 1:54.25 national record in Paris last month, world champion Semenya faces a typically strong field which includes in-form rivals Francine Niyonsaba of Burundi and Ajee Wilson of the United States, but she should be confident of gaining another victory.

In the 100m Women contest, Horn will have to be at her best to put up a challenge against a star-studded line-up.

The South African record holder enters the blocks against the likes of Olympic champion Elaine Thompson of Jamaica, 200m world champion Dafne Schippers of the Netherlands, former Commonwealth Games champion Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor of Nigeria, and Ivorian speedsters Murielle Ahoure and Marie-Josee Ta Lou.

Having delivered impressive results in his debut Diamond League campaign, Adams will also need to be sharp in order to put up another fight in the 200m Men's event.

The SA champion will turn out against in-form world champion Ramil Guliyev of Turkey, American speedster Noah Lyles and Commonwealth Games champion Jereem Richards of Trinidad and Tobago.

Semenya has already booked her place in next month's Diamond League finals, while Horn and Adams are both within reach of finishing the series among the top eight in their specialist disciplines.

SA athletes competing at the IAAF Diamond League in Monaco on Friday (SA times):
8.50pm - Carina Horn (100m Women)
9.25pm - Caster Semenya (800m Women)
9.35pm - Luxolo Adams (200m Men).