Boks ring changes for final test of the year

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee has made five changes to his run-on side for the last test of the year against Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff.

Warrick Gelant. Picture: Twitter/@Springboks

JOHANNESBURG - Allister Coetzee has made 11 changes to his final matchday squad of the year, ahead of the clash against Wales at Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

The match falls out of World Rugby’s test window and several overseas-based players are unavailable for the Springboks.

Duane Vermeulen, who made his Bok return for the last two tests against France and Italy, together with Francois Louw and Franco Mostert, have returned to their overseas clubs.

As a result Dan du Preez comes in for Vermeulen at eighth-man. Siya Kolisi returns from paternal leave, to the side of the scrum. Malcom Marx has recovered from a shoulder injury that kept him out of the Italy game and replaces Bongi Mbonambi who was impressive at hooker. And Steven Kitshoff comes in for the injured Beast Mtawarira at loose-head.

In the backline, Warrick Gelant will make his first test start in place of Courtnall Skosan on the wing. Six more changes come onto the bench, with Sharks duo Louis Schreuder and Lukhanyo Am set to make their international debuts should they run onto the park, while Uzair Cassiem, Ruan Dreyer, Oupa Mahoje and Trevor Nyakane all come in.

The Springboks’ final test match of the year kicks off at 16h30 on Saturday.