Zuma appoints new SABC board

The members have been appointed for a five-year period with immediate effect.

FILE: The SABC headquarters in Johannesburg. Picture: Supplied

CAPE TOWN - President Jacob Zuma has finally appointed members to the SABC board three weeks after the deadline.

Bongumusa Makhatini has been appointed chairperson and Febe Potgieter-Gqubule his deputy.

Zuma released a statement on Tuesday morning.

He had been accused of stalling the process a claim his office denied, saying that he wanted a proper vetting process.

During the SABC board interviews in Parliament in August, Makhathini said he was committed to adding value to the SABC.

The SABC board:

Febe Potgieter-Gqubule
Krish Naidoo
Khanyisile Kweyama
John Matisonn
Mathatha Tsedu
Rachel Kalidass
Michael Markovitz
Bongumusa Makhathini
Victor Rambau
Dinkwanyane Mohuba and
Jack Phalane