Baxter selects Bafana squad for Nigeria clash

Bafana will face the Super Eagles on 10 June in Uyo.

FILE: Bafana Bafana. Picture:

CAPE TOWN - Newly appointed Stuart Baxter has selected his first 25-man Bafana Bafana squad for his second tenure at the helm of the national team. In his first assignment, the side will take on Nigeria in their Afcon 2019 qualifier.

In goal, Itumeleng Khune is expected to be the number one, with Darren Keet and Ronwen Williams his deputies.

In defence, Kaizer Chiefs centre back Lorenzo Gordinho gets a deserved call up and is joined by teammates Rama Mphahlele and Eric Matoho.

Orlando Pirates' Abubakker Mobara also gets his chance in the Bafana fold again while Wits left back Sifiso Hlanti also getting a recall.

In the midfield, the form of Bongani Zungu in the Portuguese league for Guimaraes is duly rewarded. Other overseas based midfielders, Andile Jali, Kamohelo Mokotjo and Keagan Dolly also secured their
place in the team. The assist king of the PSL this season, Cape Town City's star man Aubrey Ngoma, has forced his way into the squad.

Upfront, Tokelo Rantie is also back in the national team mix. He will fight it out with the likes of Kermit Erasmus, Lebo Manyana, Percy Tau for the available attacking positions.

Bafana will face the Super Eagles on 10 June in Uyo. The team will then assemble for a camp on 1 June in Fourways.

Also, Libya will host Seychelles in the other Group E encounter on Friday, 9 June. The 32nd edition of African football’s showpiece will be held in Cameroon between 12 January - 3 February 2019.

Full Bafana Bafana squad:

Itumeleng Khune, Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams.

Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Rivaldo Coetzee, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Eric Mathoho, Lorenzo Gordinho, Abbubaker Mobara, Tebogo Langerman, Sifiso Hlanti

Hlompho Kekana, Keagan Dolly, Andile Jali, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Themba Zwane, Bongani Zungu, Aubrey Ngoma.

Percy Tau, Lebogang Manyama, Kermit Erasmus, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie, Thamsanqa Gabuza.