Zuma survives motion of no confidence vote

214 MPs voted against the motion while 126 voted for the motion. There was one abstention while 58 did not vote.

FILE: President Jacob Zuma. Picture: Anthony Molyneaux/EWN.

CAPE TOWN - African National Congress (ANC) Members of Parliament overwhelmingly voted against a motion of no confidence in President Jacob Zuma in Parliament on Thursday.

The Democratic Alliance (DA) launched the motion following the release of former Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s explosive State of capture report which revealed how the Gupta family played a key role in Cabinet appointments, made under-handed deals to pursue business interests and how the president failed to take action.

Opposition parties spent the afternoon debating the motion, with proceedings becoming heated at times.

DA leader Mmusi Maimane called on ANC MPs vote against their leader.

“This one man who holds us back from fulfilling the dreams of our people, I think we all know who that man is because many of you have been speaking out against him. We agree with [Mathole] Motshekga who said the ANC leadership must choose between the president on one hand and the ANC and the people of South Africa on the hand.”

The EFF’s Floyd Shivambu wanted a secret ballot.

“We need to introduce a secret ballot because it is logical. We voted for a president through a secret ballot and when we have to remove such a president, we should engage though a secret ballot.”

But in the end, deputy speaker Lechesa Tsenoli ruled against this and later read out the vote.

“Honourable members the voting summary is as follows: Yes is 126, no is 214, abstain is one and not voted is 58.”

(Edited by Winnie Theletsane)