Cape Town officials approve designated sites for discharge of fireworks

The city has put measures in place in ahead of Guy Fawkes, Diwali and New Year's Eve this year.

Picture: Twitter @edinburgh.

CAPE TOWN - Twelve areas have been made available to Capetonians to responsibly celebrate Guy Fawkes, Diwali and New Year's Eve.

The move is in a bid to prevent people from setting off fireworks illegally.

The City of Cape Town JP Smith says: "Over the years this has cut down the number of injuries and fires because when you don't do this, you have people discharging fireworks all over the place causing bushfires."

The City says the list was approved after consultation between emergency services, law enforcement and the various subcouncils.

It says children under the age of 16 are not permitted to discharge fireworks and 11pm is the cut-off time on both Guy Fawkes and Diwali, with New Year's Eve being the exception.

The following sites have been approved for the discharge of fireworks:

  • Tourism Centre, Athens Road, Table View beachfront (Killarney Racetrack is being considered as an alternative site for New Year's Eve)

  • Wesfleur sports field, Reygersdal Drive, Atlantis

  • Bishop Lavis sports field, Lavis Drive, Bishop Lavis

  • Metropolitan sports grounds, Melkhout Street, Bonteheuwel

  • Delft Central sports grounds, Main Road, Delft

  • Swartklip sports complex, Swartklip Road, Mitchells Plain

  • Athlone Stadium parking area (eastern side), Klipfontein Road, Athlone

  • Maiden's Cove parking area, Victoria Road, Camps Bay

  • Strandfontein Pavilion, Strandfontein

  • Sarepta sports complex

  • Blue Downs sports field

  • Macassar Beach parking area, Macassar Road, Macassar

Officials have encouraged residents with information relating to the illegal sale or use of fireworks to contact the following numbers:

Metro Police Call Centre: 0860 765 423

South African Police Service: 10111

General emergencies can be directed via the City's Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cellphone.