IEC readies itself for final results announcement

The electoral commission is set to announce the results of the 2016 municpal elections later this evening.

The IEC National Results Centre in Pretoria. Picture: Reinart Toerien/EWN

JOHANNESBURG - The Independent Electoral Commission ( IEC) is scheduled to announce the results of the 2016 local government elections later this evening.

Seats are being laid out facing the massive electronic results screens, the sound system is being tested and so are the spotlights.

But there are some questions around whether the official announcement will be able to go ahead.

It is now just in Gauteng that final results are outstanding, with counting 97% complete just before 4pm.

In Gauteng, final results have now been announced for the Ekurhuleni metro, with the ANC securing victory with 48.64%, followed by the DA (34.15%) and the EFF (11.23%), while the results are still awaited for Johannesburg.

Meanwhile, DA leader Mmusi Maimane says the party won't attach any preconditions to the formation of a coalition government in any of the metros, only that it should be formed on the basis of improving service delivery.

WATCH: Maimane talks coalitions

Maimane delivered an update on the party's results in Tshwane earlier today.

Yesterday, EFF leader Julius Malema said his party would be open to coalitions but that issues like land ownership would be non-negotiable.

Maimane says a pragmatic approach must be adopted when deciding what policy issues can be negotiated on.

"There are certain things that we can't do, that fall outside the confines of what is delegated authority to a local government.

"And so we can make those things as rhetorical as we want, but actually when it comes to what is possible that is what we got to debate."

He says these elections have destroyed the myth of the DA is a party for white people.

"Take Tshwane, you don't get 43% on the back of white supporters, you can't even sustain the argument. So it has to be a diversity of voters."

There are about 28 councils across the country where the DA can create a coalition government.