Junior Bok squad named for World Rugby U20 Championship

Nine players of SA Schools team that featured in the U-18 International Series in SA have also been included.

Picture: SA Rugby Facebook page.

JOHANNESBURG - Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron on Tuesday named his 28-man squad to compete at World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Manchester, England, from 7-25 June.

Eastern Province centre Jeremy Ward will lead the team in the showpiece, while his provincial team-mate Junior Pokomela and 2015 SA Schools captain, Western Province lock Ernst van Rhyn, have been named as vice-captains.

The squad features two players who were members of the Junior Springbok squad that finished third at the international showpiece in Italy last year, centre JT Jackson and scrumhalf Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Nine members of the SA Schools team that featured in the Under-18 International Series in South Africa last year have also been included.

They are centre Stedman Gans, flyhalves Manie Libbok and Curwin Bosch, scrumhalf Embrose Papier, locks Ruben de Villiers and Van Rhyn, loose forwards Cobus Wiese and Zain Davids and prop Carl├╝ Sadie.

The Junior Springboks will kick off the 2016 international spectacle against Japan on 7 June at the Academy Stadium, before taking on Argentina on 11 June and France on 15 June.

Junior Springbok squad for World Rugby U20 Championship:

Tango Balekile (Hooker - Eastern Province)

Kwenzo Blose (Prop - Free State)

Curwin Bosch (Flyhalf / Fullback - Sharks)

Jan-Henning Campher (Hooker - Blue Bulls)

Zain Davids (Loose forward - Western Province)

Ruben de Villiers (Lock - Western Province)

Stedman Gans (Centre - Blue Bulls)

James Hall (Scrumhalf - Eastern Province Kings)

Denzel Hill (No 8 - Blue Bulls)

Jaco Holtzhausen (Prop - Blue Bulls)

JT Jackson (Centre - Blue Bulls)

Marco Jansen van Vuren (Scrumhalf - Golden Lions)

Manie Libbok (Flyhalf / Centre - Blue Bulls)

Mosolwa Mafuma (Wing - Free State)

Franco Naude (Centre - Blue Bulls)

S'busiso Nkosi (Wing - Sharks)

Nicolaas Oosthuizen (Prop - Eastern Province)

Embrose Papier (Scrumhalf - Blue Bulls)

Junior Pokomela (No 8 - Eastern Province, vice-captain)

Carl├╝ Sadie (Prop - Western Province)

Eli Snyman (Lock - Blue Bulls)

Franco van den Berg (Prop - Blue Bulls)

Edwill van der Merwe (Wing - Western Province)

Ernst van Rhyn (Lock / Loose forward - Western Province, vice-captain)

Keanu Vers (Fullback - Eastern Province)

Jeremy Ward (Centre - Eastern Province, captain)

Cobus Wiese (Loose forward - Western Province)

Eduard Zandberg (Lock - Western Province)