#IPL2016 Preview: Where the Proteas will line up

There are 14 South Africans that will take part in the IPL which will begin on Saturday 9 April.

Picture: Cricket Australia.

CAPE TOWN - After an enthralling World T20 tournament, the cricket festival that is the IPL is back in its ninth instalment.

There are two new franchises (Rising Pune Supergiant's and Gujarat Lions) to look out for after both Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were suspended for two years after their involvement in illegal betting and spot fixing.

There are 14 South Africans that will take part in the IPL which will begin on Saturday 9 April and ending in late May, EWN Sport takes a look at each of the eight franchises.


Coach: Daniel Vettori

Captain: Virat Kohli

Overview: A team flush with T20 cricket's biggest superstars such as Kohli, de Villiers and Gayle; it would be a travesty for the franchise if they were not to reach the final at least.

South Africans: David Wiese and AB de Villiers

Notable players: Virat Kohli, Shane Watson and Chris Gayle

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villers, David Wiese, Adam Milne, Chris Gayle, Mitchell Starc, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Kedar Jadhav, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Sreenath Arvind, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Kane Richardson, Travis Head, Samuel Badree, Praveen Dubey, Vikramjeet Malik, Akshay Karnewar, Vikas Tokas, Iqbal Abdullah, Sachin Baby


Coach: Jaques Kallis

Captain: Gautam Gambhir

Overview: South African Jacques Kallis will take charge of an experienced squad in his first coaching gig, the two-time champions will look to make it back into the playoff stage this year after a disappointing campaign last season.

South Africans: Morne Morkel

Notable players: Andre Russell, Sunil Narine and Colin Munro

Squad: Gautam Gambhir (c), Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Chris Lynn, Yusuf Pathan, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Brad Hogg, Morne Morkel, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Sheldon Jackson, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, John Hastings, Jason Holder, Colin Munro, Rajagopal Satish, Manan Ajay Sharma


Coach: Sanjay Bangar

Captain: David Miller

Overview: David Miller takes charge of a team that finished last in the previous campaign, they have genuine match winners in the captain and Maxwell but do not have the Indian talent the other franchises possess.

South Africans: Kyle Abbott, David Miller and Farhaan Berhardien

Notable players: Glenn Maxwell, Murali Vijay and Mitchell Jonhson

Squad: David Miller (c), Murali Vijay, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Axar Patel, Anureet Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manan Vohra, Mitchell Johnson, Nikhil Shankar Naik, Rishi Dhawan, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohit Sharma, Kyle Abbott, KC Cariappa, Marcus Stoinis, Farhaan Behardien, Pardeep Sahu, Armaan Jaffer, Swapnil Singh


Coach: Paddy Upton

Captain: Zaheer Khan

Overview: A team that will rely heavily on their strong South African contingent along with World T20 hero Carlos Braithwaite, their lack of local talent is a worry as they look to improve on a disappointing seventh place last year.

South Africans: Quinton De Kock, Imran Tahir, Chris Morris, JP Duminy and Albie Morkel

Notable players: Carlos Braithwaite, Pawan Negi and Nathan Coulter-Nile

Squad: Zaheer Khan (c), Jean-Paul Duminy, Mohammed Shami, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton de Kock, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Imran Tahir, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Shreyas Iyer, Albie Morkel, Sanju Samson, Chris Morris, Carlos Braithwate, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Sam Billings, Joel Paris, Pratyush Singh, Akhil Arvind Herwadkar, Mahipal Lomror, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Chama Milind, Pawan Suyal, Rishabh Pant


Coach: Ricky Ponting

Captain: Rohit Sharma

Overview: The defending champions have a very well balanced side with a strong Indian base with the likes of Sharma and World T20's regulars Jaspirit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya coupled with a solid group of overseas signings, they could go all the way once again.

South Africans: Marchant De Lange

Notable players: Joss Buttler, Lasith Malinga and Corey Anderson

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Lendl Simmons, Ambati Rayudu, Corey Anderson, Unmukt Chand, Kieron Pollard, Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Marchant de Lange, Akshay Wakhare, Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, Jagadeesha Suchitch, Jasprit Bumrah, Nitish Rana, R Vinay Kumar, Shreyas Gopal, Siddhesh Lad, Jos Buttler, Nathu Singh, Tim Southee, Krunal Pandya, KP Kamath, Jitesh Sharma, Deepak Punia


Coach: Tom Moody

Captain: David Warner

Overview: They should improve from a disappointing season last year, with world class talent such as Warner, Williamson and Morgan coupled with Indians regulars such a Dhawan and Yuvraj, they have the capacity to topple any side on match day.

South Africans: None

Notable Players: David Warner, Kane Williamson and Shikar Dhawan

Squad: David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson, KL Rahul, Naman Ojha, Parvez Rasool, Trent Boult, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Reddy, Bipul Sharma, Karn Sharma, Ricky Bhui, Siddharth Kaul, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Deepak Hooda, Mustafizur Rahman, Aditya Tare, Barinder Singh Sran, Ben Cutting, Vijay Shankar, Abhimanyu Mithun, T Suman


Coach: Stephen Fleming

Captain: MS Dhoni

Overview: A new IPL franchise packed with stars such from overseas such as Pietersen, Smith and Proteas T20 captain Du Plessis as well as Indian talent like Dhoni, Ashwin and Rahane. If this team can perform to their potential on paper there will not be many sides that will be able to stop them in their maiden campaign.

South Africans: Faf Du Plessis

Notable players: Kevin Pietersen, Steve Smith and MS Dhoni