5 municipalities to help troubled Oudtshoorn

George, Mossel Bay, Knysna & Bitou municipalities have come together to help Oudtshoorn.

Oudtshoorn sign. Picture: Facebook.

CAPE TOWN Five municipalities in the Eden District in the Southern Cape are pulling together to assist the troubled Oudtshoorn Municipality.

The town council was placed under administration in August.

Years of political shenanigans have led to service delivery being hard hit.

The George, Mossel Bay, Knysna and Bitou municipalities have come together to save the Oudtshoorn Municipality.

Two of them have pledged a R100,000 to boost the towns coffers.

Municipal spokesperson Ntobeko Mangqwegqwe said this will see an improvement in service delivery.

The municipality has, in recent months, been inundated with plethora of complains from the public, that among others, include lack of service delivery.

The municipalities will also send staff and technicians to Oudtshoorn to assist with repairing infrastructure and potholes.