Reaction to Springbok squad pours in

Cosatu has welcomed Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer's squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The Springbok team that will represent South Africa at the 2015 World Cup was announced in Durban on Friday. Picture: Anthony Molyneaux/EWN.

JOHANNESBURG - Congress of South African Trade Union (Cosatu) has welcomed Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer's squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The union was unhappy with Meyer's previous selections during the championship games this month saying there weren't enough players of colour.

The current 31 man team has eight players of colour.

Cosatu spokesperson Tony Ehrenreich said, "It's clearly a more representative team than we ever had, although what we now want to see is the players on the field playing and they are not there to carry the bags of the white players."

He says it's unacceptable that changes were only made after concern was raised.

"This is a great day for South African rugby and it's unfortunate that it comes after pressure from a large part of the society but it's a move in the right direction."

Ehrenreich says the trade union federation will embark on a transformation drive after the Rugby World Cup.

"Although we want to state on record that this the start of the transformation that we want and we are going to be embarking on a radical programme for transformation in rugby as soon as the players and administration return from the world cup."

Yesterday, South African Rugby Union (Saru) deputy president Mark Alexander said they've met their transformation targets in the naming of the 31-man Springbok World Cup 2015 squad.

The racial make-up of the Springbok team was once again brought into focus recently following the shock defeat to Argentina.

The Bok World Cup squad features eight players of colour, including the uncapped scrumhalf Rudy Paige as well as the experienced Bryan Habana.

Alexander argued that they're on track.

WATCH: 2015 RWC Springbok squad announced.


Forwards - Willem Alberts, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Lood de Jager, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Victor Matfield, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs - Damian de Allende, Jean de Villiers (captain), Fourie du Preez, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Jesse Kriel, Pat Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo, Rudy Paige, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Handre Pollard, Morne Steyn.