20°C / 22°C

Mbalula happy with #RWC2015 Bok squad

Mbalula the World Cup Bok squad has his support as they travel to London for the tournament.

The Springbok team that will represent South Africa at the 2015 World Cup was announced in Durban on Friday.  Picture: Anthony Molyneaux/EWN

JOHANNESBURG - Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula says he is happy with the Springbok team selected to go to the Rugby World Cup in London and says all South Africans must now rally behind them.

Last night, Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer named his 31-man squad which includes eight players of colour amid growing tension around transformation in the industry.

With just under three weeks to go until kick off, Mbalula says the World Cup Bok squad has his full support as they travel to London for the tournament.

"I suppose all of the 31 players would want to win it for South Africa and they need our support more than ever before."

He says transformation is not something that can be achieved overnight and South Africans must be aware that there are measures in motion to improve transformation in the industry.

But he says Meyer has responded to calls to include more capable players of colour and South Africans must give the team their full support.

"For now with what we have, in terms of the Springboks, I'm happy with the selection of the coach."

Mbalula says he has no doubt that every member in the team will do the country proud.

Meanwhile, Congress of South African Trade Union (Cosatu) has also welcomed the squad selection but says it is unacceptable that changes were only made once concerns were raised.


Forwards - Willem Alberts, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Lood de Jager, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Victor Matfield, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs - Damian de Allende, Jean de Villiers (captain), Fourie du Preez, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Jesse Kriel, Pat Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo, Rudy Paige, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Handre Pollard, Morne Steyn.

WATCH: 2015 RWC Springbok squad announced.


EWN welcomes all comments that are constructive, contribute to discussions in a meaningful manner and take stories forward.

However, we will NOT condone the following:

- Racism (including offensive comments based on ethnicity and nationality)
- Sexism
- Homophobia
- Religious intolerance
- Cyber bullying
- Hate speech
- Derogatory language
- Comments inciting violence.

We ask that your comments remain relevant to the articles they appear on and do not include general banter or conversation as this dilutes the effectiveness of the comments section.

We strive to make the EWN community a safe and welcoming space for all.

EWN reserves the right to: 1) remove any comments that do not follow the above guidelines; and, 2) ban users who repeatedly infringe the rules.

Should you find any comments upsetting or offensive you can also flag them and we will assess it against our guidelines.

EWN is constantly reviewing its comments policy in order to create an environment conducive to constructive conversations.

comments powered by Disqus