UCL group stage finalised, while Messi wins again

The evening culminated in Lionel Messi being named the European Player of the Year.

FC Barcelone Argentinian striker Lionel Messi (L) receives from UEFA president Michel Platini (R) the trophy of Best Men's player in Europe next to runner-up Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo at the end of the UEFA Champions League Group stage draw ceremony, on August 27, 2015 in Monaco. Picture: AFP.

JOHANNESBURG - The groups for the 2015/2016 Uefa Champions League have been finalised, following the draw that took place in Monaco on Thursday.

Defending champions Barcelona have been drawn in Group E alongside Leverkusen, Roma and Bate, while last season's losing finalists Juventus find themselves in Group D with Manchester City, Sevilla and Mönchengladbach.

Arsenal are in Group F with former champions Bayern Munich.

The sides last played each other during the knock-out stages of the 2014 competition when the German side prevailed 3-1 on aggregate.

Manchester United make a return to the competition, and are in Group B with PSV, CSKA Moscow and Wolfsburg, while Chelsea are in Group G, where they will face the likes of Porto, Dynamo Kyiv and Maccabi Tel-Aviv.

The Groups for the 2015/16 Uefa Champions League

A - PSG, Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, Malmo

B - PSV, Man Utd, CSKA Moscow, Wolfsburg

C - Benfica, Atletico, Galatasaray, Astana

D - Juventus, Man City, Sevilla, Mönchengladbach

E - Barcelona, Leverkusen, Roma, Bate

F - Bayern, Arsenal, Olympiacos, Dinamo Zagreb

G - Chelsea, Porto, Dynamo Kyiv, Maccabi Tel-Aviv

H - Zenit, Valencia, Lyon, Gent

The evening culminated in Lionel Messi being named the European Player of the Year.

The Barcelona forward beat out teammate Luis Suarez and Real Madrid's Christiano Ronaldo to the award.

Germany's Celia Sasic was named the best female player in Europe.