Horwill left out of Wallabies Rugby World Cup squad

Another notable omission from Cheika’s team is Horwill’s Brumbies teammate and scrumhalf Nic White.

James Horwill (L) of Australia celebrates with teammates after their victory during the Rugby Championship Test match between Australia and South Africa at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on 18 July, 2015. Picture: AFP.

JOHANNESBURG - Australia coach Michael Cheika has named his final 31-man squad to take part in the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England and has surprisingly left out former captain and the man who played a part in the Wallabies' Rugby Championship triumph this year, James Horwill.

Another notable omission from Cheika's team is Horwill's Brumbies teammate and scrumhalf Nic White, who was also part of the recent Rugby Championship winning side.

Horwill captained the Wallabies in the 2011 world cup, which the Australians co-hosted with New Zealand, and which they crashed out of in the semi-finals to eventual winners the All Blacks, having controversially beaten the Springboks in the quarter-finals.

30 year old Horwill, who plays in the lock position, earned 58 caps for the Wallabies and is set to join English rugby union Harlequins after the world cup.

Cheika's squad comprises of 14 backs and 17 forwards, who have a combined total of 1200 caps between them and will be lead by hooker Stephen Moore with Michael Hooper and Adam Ashley Cooper assuming the vice-captain roles.

The Aussies are going with only two scrumhalves and two flyhalves for the tournament, including Will Genia and Quad Cooper, who are likely to feature the most.


Backs: Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Rob Horne, Drew Mitchell, Henry Speight, Joe Tomane, Tevita Kuridrani, Kurtley Beale, Matt Giteau, Matt Toomua, Quade Cooper, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Nick Phipps.

Forwards: Wycliff Palu, David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Ben McCalman, Sean McMahon, Scott Fardy, Kane Douglas, Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton, Stephen Moore (captain), Tatafu Polota-Nau, Greg Holmes, Sekope Kepu, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Toby Smith (uncapped).