All Blacks name team to face Springboks

Lock James Broadhurst and first five-eighths Lima Sopoaga will make their Test debuts.

All Black coach Steve Hansen.  Picture: Christa Eybers/EWN

JOHANNESBURG - The All Blacks side to play South Africa in the Rugby Championship Test at Emirates Airline Park in Johannesburg, on Saturday has been named, with lock James Broadhurst and first five-eighths Lima Sopoaga to make their Test debuts.

Sopoaga comes in for Daniel Carter at first five-eighths and Broadhurst takes over from Luke Romano.

In other changes in the starting XV, Dane Coles comes in at hooker with Liam Messam at blindside flanker.

In the backs, Aaron Smith returns to the starting halfback position, while the world-record midfield combo of Ma'a Nonu and Conrad Smith is back. As well, with a desire to continue to give Israel Dagg more game time, Ben Smith is named on the right wing.

On the bench, Ben Franks comes in as reserve prop alongside Wyatt Crockett, Codie Taylor retains the reserve hooker jersey, Sam Whitelock is reserve lock, with Victor Vito covering the loose forwards.

Broadhurst and Sopoaga will be surrounded by a hugely experienced All Blacks side, with the starting forward pack boasting exactly 500 Test caps experience, with a further 320 caps in the starting backline and 217 on the bench.


Tony Woodcock, Dane Coles, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, James Broadhurst, Liam Messam, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Aaron Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Charles Piutau, Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Ben Smith, Israel Dagg.


Codie Taylor, Wyatt Crockett, Ben Franks, Samuel Whitelock, Victor Vito, TJ Perenara, Beauden Barrett, Malakai Fekitoa.