AB de Villiers wins big at CSA awards

De Villiers was also named ODI Cricketer of the Year and SA fans award.

AB De Villiers was named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year for the second successive year at the Cricket South Africa Banquet dinner on 3 June 2015. Picture: official CSA Facebook page.

JOHANNESBURG - AB de Villiers was named South Africa's Cricketer of the Year for a second successive year when he scooped up the night's biggest award at the Cricket South Africa banquet dinner.

It was one of five awards he picked up last night.

De Villiers said one award is more special than the rest.

"Player's Player Award by long way. I'm very privileged to be standing here with the award in my hand when you know that we've got group of players around you that, first of all, believe that you had a good season, that you can play and win the games for South Africa and secondly believe that you're a good captain. It makes me look forward to the next season.

De Villiers said despite all the records and awards, he's far from the perfect player.

"I know how vulnerable I'm at times and how easily I can get out. It's never a case of thinking that I'm this dangerous kind of a player; I'll always keep my feet on the ground.

"I know that I can be good when I get in but I've got to work hard to get there first, so it will be stupid of me to be arrogant about it and to think that I'm really good."

Looking back at his best knock of the season, De Villiers said it was a close between his recording breaking hundred in the pink ODI and the 150 he scored in the World Cup.

"I think the one against the West Indies in Sydney was more flawless or more on the out of the middle of the bat. Some of the shots at the Wanderers didn't come out in the middle of the bat, where I can't think of one at Sydney that didn't come of the middle, so that doesn't happen very often."

De Villiers was also named ODI Cricketer of the Year and South Africa Fans' Player of the Year respectively.

Only eight players have received CSA's most prestigious award and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011) and Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) are the other players to be awarded twice.

The other previous winners are Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), and Vernon Philander (2012).

The other major awards went to Hashim Amla as Test Cricketer of the Year and Morne van Wyk as Ticketpro T20 Cricketer of the Year while Dale Steyn won the RAM Delivery of the Year and Rilee Rossouw was named SA Newcomer of the Year.

Shabnim Ismail was named Momentum Women's Cricketer of the Year.