Chiefs claim PSL title with crushing victory

Kaizer Chiefs beat Polokwane City 4 - 1 and are crowned the 2014/2015 PSL Champions.

Kaizer Chiefs have won the Premier Soccer League title. Picture: Morena Mothupi/EWN

JOHANNESBURG - Kaizer Chiefs beat Polokwane City 4 - 1 and in doing so have been crowned the 2014/2015 PSL Champions.

Needing just three points to seal the league title, irrespective of what Mamelodi Sundowns do in their match against Platinum Stars, also on Wednesday night, Chiefs went gung-ho at the City defence with some crisp passing and good attempts at goal.

George Lebese had the best opportunities to open the scoring for Amakhosi with a great diving header but it could only go over goals.

The winger made up for that wasted opportunity as he found himself in some lovely space, to connect with a Willard Katsande's through ball and buried the ball in the back of the net.

Moments later, Polokwane failed to clear a scramble in their 18-yard area and Bernard Parker was on hand to bag his sixth goal of the season and stretch the home side's advantage to 2-0.

Stuart Baxter's men went into the break with the lead but they signalled their intentions in the second half as they went in search of more goals.

Mathew Rusike, who had been receiving a lot of flack from the fans for missed chances, redeemed himself when he made it 3-0 to Chiefs, thanks to a Siphiwe Tshabalala cross.

City pulled one back through Rendani Ndou soon after but it would be Rusike again who would grab his brace and restore the three goal advantage.

4-1 is how it ended as the men from Naturena etched their name on the PSL trophy for the fourth time in their history.