AB & Morkel make ICC World Cup team

The team was chosen by a group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side.

FILE: AB de Villiers plays a shot during the 2015 Cricket World Cup Pool B match at the Sydney Cricket Ground on 27 February, 2015. Picture: AFP.

JOHANNESBURG - The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the team of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 with Proteas captain AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel making the team.

Spinner Imran Tahir narrowly missed out a chance to be named after a thorough deliberation from the team selection panel.

The ICC announced Brendon McCullum as the team captain.

McCullum was chosen as the captain following his aggressive, innovative and inspirational leadership during the 44-day tournament that was the cornerstone of his team's progression to the final where it lost to Australia by seven wickets.

McCullum also scored 328 runs in nine matches with four half-centuries at a strike-rate of 188.50.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the tournament.

Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

In addition to McCullum, the side includes four New Zealanders, three Australians, two South Africans and one Sri Lankan.

Zimbabwe's Brendan Taylor who finished with 433 runs in six matches, was named as the 12th man.


Brendon McCullum (New Zealand (captain)

Martin Guptill (New Zealand)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) (wicketkeeper)

Steven Smith (Australia)

AB de Villiers (South Africa)

Glenn Maxwell (Australia)

Corey Anderson (New Zealand)

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Trent Boult (New Zealand)

Morne Morkel (South Africa)

Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe) (12th man)

ICC General Manager, Geoff Allardice, chairman of the panel, said this was a tough decision to make given an avalanche of skilled players in the tournament.

"The panel had an extremely difficult choice of selecting a 12-member squad at the back of an outstanding tournament, highlighted by some eye-catching individual performances including two double-centuries, 38 centuries, two hat-tricks and 28 four-wicket hauls.

"There were a number of other players that were discussed as possible selections in the team. These included batsmen Mahmudullah (Bangladesh) and Shaiman Anwar (UAE), fast bowlers Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami (both India), Wahab Riaz (Pakistan) and spinners Imran Tahir (South Africa) and R.Ashwin (India).

"But there were so many brilliant individual performances during the tournament that it was not possible to fit them into the team. The panel eventually came up with this side, which, in their view, was the most balanced outfit that is capable of beating any side on any given day."


Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket)

Andrew Alderson (Journalist, New Zealand Herald)

Harsha Bhogle (Broadcaster)

Richard Kettleborough (Member of Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and ICC Umpire of the Year 2014)

Chloe Saltau (Journalist, The Age)

Michael Vaughan (Former England captain and broadcaster)