EFF MPs warned against becoming 'toothless representatives'

The party also defined what it considers revolutionary discipline & how fighters should conduct themselves.

EFF leaders on the podium following their nominations into the party's top national leadership positions on 14 December 2014.Picture: Vumani Mkhize/EWN.

JOHANNESBURG - The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) National People's Assembly has heard a warning from its Central Command Team to be weary of becoming toothless representatives in Parliament.

The EFF organisational renewal report was presented to more than 2,000 delegates attending the party's inaugural National People's Assembly at the University of the Free State in Bloemfontein yesterday.

The party also defined what it considers revolutionary discipline and how fighters should conduct themselves.

Central command member Sam Matiase says the EFF should not focus its attention on Parliament at the expense of its protest movements.

"Parliament is one side of the struggle. You must be careful that we don't get absorbed and consumed in Parliament and neglect the struggles in communities through protests and all of that."

WATCH: EFF top leadership nominated unopposed


At the same time, party leader Julius Malema said the assertion that his party is violent and disruptive is devoid of truth, and evidence shows that the party is actually more peaceful than other political parties.

Malema was responding to the violence during other provincial meetings of the EFF ahead of its National People's Assembly in Bloemfontein.

He said the national meeting started without incident and is symbolic of the EFF's discipline.

"We don't have killing. We don't have anyone with serious injuries who had to be admitted to hospital because of the assembly of the EFF. Those are enemy agents who seek to undermine the cause of the revolution."

WATCH: Malema's opening address at the EFF assembly


Malema was elected unopposed after a candidate from the Free State declined nomination to challenge him for the presidency.

Others elected into the top six structure are chief whip Floyd Shivambu as deputy president and Magdalene Moonsamy as treasurer.

But there were some surprises, with two leaders who played crucial roles in this year's general elections excluded.

While there may have been counter-nominations for top posts, none of the candidates could meet the required threshold to second a nomination.

It was believed that Mpho Ramakatsa would be voted in as secretary-general, after serving as coordinator during the 7 May polls but one of the EFF's most outspoken Member of Parliament (MP), Godrich Gardee, was elected by a majority.

Andile Mngxitama was also left out in the cold, with Hlengiwe Hlophe elected as Gardee's deputy.

Dali Mpofu was elected chairperson.