DA names Nkandla committee members

The National Assembly yesterday approved an ANC motion for an ad-hoc committee to probe Nkandla spending.

President Jacob Zuma's Nkandla homestead. Picture: City Press.

CAPE TOWN - The Democratic Alliance (DA) has named the two Members of Parliament (MPs) who will serve on the Parliamentary ad-hoc committee on Nkandla.

The MPs are the party's Parliamentary leader Mmusi Maimane and Shadow Minister of Correctional Services James Selfe.

Former top prosecutor turned DA MP Glynnis Breytenbach will serve as an alternative member.

The committee will have 11 members - six from the ANC, two from the DA, one from the Economic Freedom Fighters and two representing the other parties.

The committee was agreed to in the National Assembly on Tuesday. Its job will be to consider President Jacob Zuma's response to reports made by Public Protector Thuli Madonsela, the government's task team and the Special Investigating Unit (SIU) on the millions spent on upgrading his Nkandla homestead in KwaZulu-Natal.

Maimane says the committee's work is important.

"We believe that the committee must get to the truth of Nkandla and must be able to account to the public whether R246 million of their money was spent."

Maimane says members of the committee will need to scrutinise all the reports related to investigations into the Nkandla spending.

"It's requisite that the committee be able to interrogate documents such as the public protector and the SIU's reports in order to ensure that the broader scope is accomplished."

Parties have until early next week to submit the names of their members for the committee.

The multi-party committee must report back to Parliament by 24 October.

An earlier committee was disbanded ahead of the May elections.

On Thursday, the president, in a 20-page written response, said Police Minister Nkosinathi Nhleko must now determine whether he must repay some of the money spent on Nkandla.