Mafikizolo loses out on BET award

The SA duo was up against four other artists for Best International Act: Africa category.

Mafikizolo has lost out on winning a BET awar to Nigerian music star Davido. Picture: Twitter.

JOHANNESBURG - Mafikizolo has lost out on adding a Black Entertainment Television (BET) award to their collection.

The South African duo was up against four other artists for Best International Act: Africa category at the ceremony in Los Angeles last night but lost out to Nigerian music star Davido.

The duo says there are no hard feelings and just being at the ceremony was an incredible experience.

"It's just a platform that we were given to be here. As Africans you think it's farfetched and that Americans stand a better chance."

R&B star Pharrell, rapper Nicki Minaj and newcomer August Alsina led the winners at the awards which also honoured veteran soul singer Lionel Richie.

Pharrell won two awards, including best male R&B/pop artist. Beyonce was named best female R&B/pop singer and closed the show with a sultry performance with husband Jay Z. The couple also won best collaboration for Drunk In Love.

Richie received the lifetime achievement award for his prolific career as part of Motown group The Commodores and as a solo artist.

New Orleans singer Alsina was named best new artist and Lil Wayne's rap collective Young Money scored best group.

Drake won best male hip hop artist, but was not available to collect his award while Minaj was named best female hip hop artist.

Comedian Chris Rock hosted the show, throwing jokes and jibes and handing out chicken and waffles to the audience.

Oscar-winning historical drama 12 Years A Slave swept the film categories with Oscar-winning newcomer Lupita Nyong'o named best actress and Chiwetel Ejiofor named best actor. Neither were on hand to accept their awards.

Civil rights activist Myrlie Evers-Williams accepted the humanitarian award commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act signed into law in 1964.

Sportswoman and sportsman of the year went to tennis star Serena Williams and basketball player Kevin Durant respectively.

The awards will be broadcast in South Africa on Tuesday night at 10pm.