Zuma set to announce new Cabinet

Jacob Zuma was yesterday sworn in as President of the Republic of South Africa at the Union Buildings.

President Jacob Zuma with his wife Sizakele Khumalo at the presidential inauguration at the Union Buildings. Picture: Sebabatso Mosamo/EWN.

JOHANNESBURG - President Jacob Zuma is now set to announce his new Cabinet following his inauguration at the Union Buildings in Pretoria yesterday.

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng presided over the inauguration ceremony before heads of state, dignitaries and royalty.

More than 40 heads of state and government, VIPs, celebrities and royalty attended the inauguration as well as thousands of ordinary South Africans.

Guests included about 47 representatives of foreign countries, including more than 20 presidents and former presidents.

Former president Thabo Mbeki. Picture: Sebabatso Mosamo/EWN.

ANC deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa. Picture: GCIS.

Minister of Health Aaron Motsoaledi. Picture: GCIS.

Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan. Picture: GCIS.

Minister in the Presidency Collins Chabane. Picture: GCIS.

Swaziland's King Mswati lll. Picture: GCIS.

Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe and his wife Grace. Picture: GCIS.

The president swore to protect the Republic of South Africa and serve the nation.

He also told thousands of people he was humbled to have received a mandate from millions of South Africans and will do everything he can to be worthy of it.

Zuma focused on the economy, saying there would be changes to laws around employment equity and broad-based black economic empowerment to speed up economic transformation.

He also said the state would intervene more in the economy to try and unlock blockages.

He said South Africa still needs help to heal the scars of apartheid and that nation building must still be a priority.

The president was also given a 21-gun salute and there was a flyby of helicopters and planes, which included the Gripen fighter jet.

Aircraft organised themselves into a '20' formation to celebrate two decades of democracy in South Africa.