Zuma announces new Cabinet

President Jacob Zuma has announced dozens of changes to his Cabinet of ministers and deputy ministers.

President Jacob Zuma has announced dozens of changes to his Cabinet of ministers and deputy ministers. Picture: GCIS/Sapa.

PRETORIA/JOHANNESBURG - President Jacob Zuma has announced dozens of changes to his Cabinet of ministers and deputy ministers, including various new and combined portfolios.

The president made the announcement at Tshedimosetso House in Hatfield, Pretoria, a short while ago.

"I announced on Saturday that we have entered the second phase of our transition to a national, democratic society. I also said this would be a radical phase of socio-economic transformation."

He says the Cabinet will be "tasked with improving and speeding up the implementation of our progressive policies and programmes".

Zuma announced Cyril Ramaphosa would serve as Deputy President.

He also announced the formation of a new Ministry of Telecommunications and Postal Services which would be headed by Siyabonga Cwele, who was previously Minister of State Security.

"We see a great developmental value in the Post Office, given its role of delivering financial services to remote areas of our country. This new department will ensure that the country derives more value out of the booming communications industry and the postal services sector."

Zuma also announced that the Ministry of Communications would now be responsible for "information dissemination, publicity and the branding of the country abroad" and be headed by Faith Muthambi.

The ministry will also be responsible for the administration of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa, the South African Broadcasting Corporation, the Government Communications and Information System, Brand SA and the Media Development and Diversity Agency.

Zuma said the National Planning Commission and the Ministry in the Presidency for Performance, Monitoring and Evaluation had been combined into one ministry which would also be responsible for youth development.

Further, Zuma said the functions related to support for people with disabilities and children would be transferred to the Ministry of Social Development, which would continue to be headed by Bathabile Dlamini.

The Ministry of Women would now be located within the Presidency, he said, with Susan Shabangu at the helm.

The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development will now be combined with the Department of Correctional Services, now named the Department of Justice and Correctional Services, headed by former Deputy Minister of Science and Technology Michael Masutha.

Zuma said government would also place greater emphasis on water and sanitation with a new department headed by former Gauteng Premier Nomvula Mokonyane. This means the former Department of Water and Environmental Affairs will simply be responsible for the environment.

"We have made an undertaking to significantly improve the provision of water and sanitation to our communities in the new term," said Zuma.

Finally, Zuma reiterated that "the economy will take centre stage" in the second term of his presidency, announcing the formation of a Ministry for Small Business Development.

Below is the full list of Cabinet appointments:

Deputy President

  • Cyril Ramaphosa

The Presidency

  • Minister Jeff Radebe

  • Deputy Minister Buti Manamela

Women in the Presidency

  • Minister Susan Shabangu

Justice and Correctional Services

  • Minister Michael Masutha

  • Deputy Minister responsible for justice and constitutional development John Jeffery

  • Deputy Minister responsible for correctional services Thabang Makwetla

Public Service and Administration

  • Minister Collins Chabane

  • Deputy Minister Ayanda Dlodlo

Defence and Military Veterans

  • Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

  • Deputy Minister Kebby Maphatsoe

Home Affairs

  • Minister Malusi Gigaba

  • Deputy Minister Fatima Chohan

Environmental Affairs

  • Minister Edna Molewa

  • Deputy Minister Barbara Thomson

State Security

  • Minister David Mahlobo

  • Deputy Minister Ellen Molekane

Telecommunications and Postal Services

  • Minister Siyabonga Cwele

  • Deputy Minister Hlengiwe Mkhize


  • Minister Nkosinathi Nhleko

  • Deputy Minister Maggie Sotyu

Trade and Industry

  • Minister Rob Davies

  • Deputy Minister Mzwandile Masina


  • Minister Nhlanhla Nene

  • Deputy Minister Mcebisi Jonas

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

  • Minister Senzeni Zokwana

  • Deputy Minister Bheki Cele

Water and Sanitation

  • Minister Nomvula Mokonyane

  • Deputy Minister Pam Tshwete

Basic Education

  • Minister Angie Motshekga

  • Deputy Minister Enver Surty


  • Minister Aaron Motsoaledi

  • Deputy Minister Joe Phaahla

International Relations and Cooperation

  • Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

  • Deputy Minister Noma-India Mfeketho

  • Deputy Minister Lluwelyn Landers

Rural Development and Land Reform

  • Minister Gugile Nkwinti

  • Deputy Minister Mcebisi Skwatsha

  • Deputy Minister Candith Mashego-Dlamini

Higher Education and Training

  • Minister Bonginkosi 'Blade' Nzimande

  • Deputy Minister Mduduzi Manana

Economic Development

  • Minister Ebrahim Patel

  • Deputy Minister Madala Masuku


  • Minister Dipuo Peters

  • Deputy Minister Sindi Chikunga

Mineral Resources

  • Minister Ngoako Ramathlodi

  • Deputy Minister Godfrey Oliphant

Social Development

  • Minister Bathabile Dlamini

  • Deputy Minister Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu

Public Enterprises

  • Minister Lynne Brown

  • Deputy Minister Gratitude Magwanishe

Sport and Recreation

  • Minister Fikile Mbalula

  • Deputy Minister Gert Oosthuizen


  • Minister Mildred Oliphant

  • Deputy Minister Inkosi Patekile Holomisa

Arts and Culture

  • Minister Nathi Mthethwa

  • Deputy Minister Rejoice Mabudafhasi

Public Works

  • Minister Thulas Nxesi

  • Deputy Minister Jeremy Cronin

Small Business Development

  • Minister Lindiwe Zulu

  • Deputy Minister Elizabeth Thabethe


  • Minister Tina Joemat-Peterssen

  • Deputy Minister Thembi Majola

Science and Technology

  • Minister Naledi Pandor

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

  • Minister Pravin Gordhan

  • Deputy Minister responsible for provincial and local government Andries Nel

  • Deputy Minister responsible for traditional affairs Obed Bapela


  • Minister Faith Muthambi

  • Deputy Minister Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

Human Settlements

  • Minister Lindiwe Sisulu

  • Deputy Minister Zoe Kota-Hendricks


  • Minister Derek Hanekom

  • Deputy Minister Thokozile Xasa