SA’s ANC premiers announced

EWN breaks down the updated list of the country’s provincial premiers.

ANC flags at the party's Mangaung conference. Picture: GCIS.

JOHANNESBURG - The ANC has officially announced the eight people who will run the provinces it won in the recent elections.

While an announcement is still forthcoming from the Democratic Alliance as to the party's plans for the Western Cape, Helen Zille remains the likely choice there.

The ANC says three provinces will have new premiers, namely Gauteng, the Eastern Cape and the North West.

Gauteng: David Makhura

David Makhura, currently the ANC's provincial secretary, will replace Nomvula Mokonyane who's been at the helm for the past five years. Picture: Sapa.

Eastern Cape: Phumulo Masualle

Phumulo Masualle, pictured here with President Jacob Zuma, has been provincial chairperson for the ANC since 2009 and will replace Noxolo Kiviet. Picture:

North West: Supra Mahumapelo

Supra Mahumapelo (right), who has been in the provincial legislature since 2012, will replace Thandi Modise. Picture:

Limpopo: Stanley Mathabatha

Stanley Mathabatha was made premier just under a year ago, replacing Cassel Mathale. Picture:

Free State: Ace Magashule

Ace Magushule became premier in 2009, replacing Beatrice Marshoff. Picture: Sapa.

KwaZulu-Natal: Senzo Mchunu

Senzo Mchunu became acting premier in the province nine months ago and was made permanent a month later. Picture: Sapa.

Mpumalanga: David Mabuza

David Mabuza became premier in 2009. Picture: Sapa.

Northern Cape: Sylvia Lucas

Sylvia Lucas took office a year ago, replacing acting premier Grizelda Cjiekella. Picture: Flickr.