Vilakazi wins big at PSL Awards

The PSL Awards took place last night as the league honoured the best of the best in SA football.

Bidvest Wits player Sibusiso Vilakazi was awarded PSL Footballer of the Season for 2013/14 by Minsiter of Sports and Recreation, Fikile Mbalula, at the PSL Awards Ceremony on 18 May 2014. Picture: via Twitter @MbalulaFikile

JOHANNESBURG - The Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards took place last night as the league honoured its best players and coaches for their performances throughout the season.

Coach of the Season Pitso Mosimane, dedicated the award to all the local coaches in the league after becoming the first black coach to win the PSL and only the fourth South African to lead a team to a league triumph.

"I dedicate the award to black local coaches, people like Steve Komphela inspired me and I didn't want to let them down."

Player of the Season Sibusiso Vilakazi's attention will now turn to a possible call up to the Bafana squad.

The player was left out of Gordon Igesund's side to play New Zealand and Australia, but he said he's using the snub to grow himself as a player.

"Not being included isn't a big deal because it's motivation for me to work even harder. It's also an opportunity for me to show the coach with my performance that I'm available for selection."

Meanwhile, Young Player of the Season Keagan Dolly set his sights on a possible move overseas following the win.

The young player admitted that he's assessing his options at the moment.

"I'm happy at Ajax and would stay another season or two, my other option is to move overseas, I'm meeting my agent soon to decide on my future."


Footballer of the Season: R250 000

• Alje Schut (Mamelodi Sundowns)

• Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits) - WINNER

• Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs


Absa Premiership Players' Player of the Season - R150 000

• Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits) - WINNER

• Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns)

• Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season - R50 000

• Anssi Jaakkola (Ajax Cape Town)

• Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) - WINNER

• Moeneeb Joseph (Bidvest Wits)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season - R50 000

• Abbubaker Mobara (Ajax Cape Town)

• Gabadini Mhango (Bloemfontein Celtic)

• Keagen Dolly (Ajax Cape Town) - WINNER

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season - R75 000

• Clive Barker (Mpumalanga Black Aces)

• Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) - WINNER

• Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season - R50 000

• Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns) - WINNER

• Knowledge Musona (Kaizer Chiefs)

• Puleng Tlolane (Polokwane City)

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer - R25 000

• Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)


Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: R150 000

• Jabulani Shongwe (Bidvest Wits)

• Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates)

• Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits) - WINNER

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament: R50 000

• Kwanda Mngonyama (Bidvest Wits) - WINNER

• Thabo Moloi (SuperSport United)

• Vincent Pule (African Warriors)


Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: R200 000

• Lennox Bacela (Orlando Pirates)

• Mogakolodi Ngele (Platinum Stars) - WINNER

• Robert Ng'ambi (Platinum Stars)


MTN8 Last Man Standing: R80 000

• Lennox Bacela (Orlando Pirates)

• Vuyo Mere (Platinum Stars)

• Robert Ng'ambi (Platinum Stars) - WINNER


Top Goal scorer of the Season:

• David Zulu (Black Leopards)


Referee of the Season: R50 000

• Khulisani Qongqo

• Robert Smith

• Zolile Mthetho - WINNER

Assistant Referee of the Season: R40 000

• Edward Madidilane - WINNER

• Enoch Molefe

• Johannes Moshidi