Ludeke makes four changes

Victor Matfield has been included in the Bulls starting XV.

Victor Matfield, who was not meant to play on tour, has been named in the Bulls starting team to face the Highlanders. Picture:

CAPE TOWN - Bulls coach Frans Ludeke has made four changes to his starting line-up to take on the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday.

Grant Hattingh, Jacques du Plessis and Jono Ross form an all-new starting loose trio, replacing Jacques Engelbrecht, Deon Stegmann and Dewald Potgieter respectively.

Lock Victor Matfield, who was not meant to play at all on tour, replaces Paul Willemse in the starting XV.

Bulls prop Werner Kruger will play his 100th Super Rugby match for the Pretoria franchise, and has received special praise from Ludeke ahead of the milestone match.

"It is great for Werner to play in his 100th match. He has been a real stalwart to the team since his debut in 2008 and has hardly put a foot wrong in all those seasons since. He is the first to acknowledge though that personal milestones only mean something if the team function successfully as a unit and that will be something we will strive to achieve."

Bulls team to face the Highlanders: Jurgen Visser, Akona Ndungane, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Francois Hougaard, Grant Hattingh, Jacques du Plessis, Jono Ross, Victor Matfield, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Callie Visagie, Dean Greyling.

Replacements: Bongo Mbonambi, Marcel van der Merwe, Morne Mellett, Paul Willemse, Jacques Engelbrecht, Piet van Zyl, Handré Pollard, William Small-Smith.