Stormers make five changes

The Stormers play the third match of their Australasia tour against the Brumbies on Saturday.

The Stormers take on the Brumbies on Saturday. Picture:

CAPE TOWN - Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has made five changes to his team for Saturday's Super Rugby match against the Brumbies in Canberra.

Gio Aplon, who scored a wonderful solo try against the Chiefs last week, shifts from wing to fullback to accommodate Sailosi Tagicakibau, who comes in on the left wing for his first start for the Cape side. Peter Grant makes his first start after returning from Japan, coming in at fly-half for Demetri Catrakilis.

Grant will make his 93rd appearance for the Stormers, while fit-again centre Juan de Jongh takes up a place on the bench.

In the forwards, tighthead prop Frans Malherbe has recovered from a toe injury and takes over from Brok Harris in the front row, while Michael Rhodes comes into the side as a lock replacement for De Kock Steenkamp, who flew home with a groin injury earlier this week.

Coetzee has been preparing his side to challenge the tactically astute Brumbies team, and is paying particular attention to the Brumbies' renowned kicking game.

"The Brumbies are a very physical team, using direct runners off [number] nine, so we have to front up and put our bodies on the line. They're also a good kicking team. They use Jesse Mogg's left foot and Nic White's big right boot and then Matt Toomua has a massive kicking game too.

"But we've trained well in Sydney all week and we're looking forward to the challenge. Like I've said before, there is no place to hide in Super Rugby and our challenge is to win both our remaining games in Australia, starting with this weekend in Canberra against a very good Brumbies team."

The Stormers team for Saturday: Gio Aplon, Kobus van Wyk, Jean de Villiers (captain), Damian de Allende, Sailosi Tagicakibau, Peter Grant, Nic Groom, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger (vice-captain), Deon Fourie, Michael Rhodes, Ruan Botha, Frans Malherbe, Tiaan Liebenberg, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Stephan Coetzee, Oliver Kebble, Brok Harris, Siya Kolisi, Nizaam Carr, Louis Schreuder, Demetri Catrakilis, Juan de Jongh.