Zuma top of ANC's candidate list

The ruling party has handed its full list of candidates for the National Assembly to the IEC.

President Jacob Zuma. Picture: GCIS.

JOHANNESBURG - The African National Congress (ANC) has confirmed that President Jacob Zuma is number one on its list of candidates for the National Assembly after the upcoming general elections.

The ruling party handed its full list to the Independent Electoral Commission.

Zuma is followed by Cyril Rampahosa, Malusi Gigaba and Naledi Pandor.

The ANC says no one with any post-1994 criminal convictions is on this list and it's still vetting people who may face outstanding criminal charges.

ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe also says anyone on this list needs to make sure their traffic fines are paid in full.

Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula had appeared to fall out with Zuma but he is at number six.

Minister of Higher Education and Training Blade Nzimande is at number seven.

Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan is at number 13 which could mean he gets another cabinet post even as he appears to signal he doesn't want to return to the treasury.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela is at number 29 on this list despite appearing to be critical of the ANC and Zuma over the past year.

Dina Pule is also on the list despite a list of findings against her by Public Protector Thuli Madonsela for her behaviour while she was communications minister.

Mantashe confirmed that current African Union chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma is also high on the list.

"She is not going to be recalled from the AU, she will complete her term there but we don't want to eliminate her."

Current ANC spokesperson Jackson Mthembu is at number 27.