More municipal magistrates for CT

The city currently has 11 municipal courts and is battling with by-law and traffic offence cases.

The Department of Justice on Sunday 2 March gave the city of Cape Town the green light to appoint more municipal magistrates. Picture: RSC Inc.

The city currently has 11 municipal courts.

In 2008, the municipality offered to pay for three more municipal magistrates.

The city's JP Smith says that's now possible.

"The city is really delighted by this development. it's an incredibly important step.

"We have long been trying to secure the addition of extra magistrates to our municipal traffic courts which will vastly improve how we are able to deal with by-law and traffic transgressions."