De Kock and Miller awarded CSA contracts

The board also approved a request from Haroon Lorgat to consider multi-year contracts.

The Board also approved a request from the Chief Executive to consider multi-year contracts. Picture: Facebook.

JOHANNESBURG - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday approved the names of the 17 players proposed by the selection panel for national contracts for the 2014-2015 year.

New contracts have been awarded to Quinton de Kock of the Highveld Lions and David Miller of the Dolphins.

The number of contracted players has been reduced from 22 to 17 as per the agreement between CSA and the South African Cricketers' Association (SACA), from May 2014 to 2018.

"I am delighted that we recently signed new heads of agreement with SACA," commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. "As expected, negotiating player terms that include earnings will always be challenging, but I was really pleased with the positive and mature way in which the negotiations were conducted.

"In addition to the 17 nationally contracted players, CSA will also offer 12 top-up contracts for aspiring franchise players who could be regarded as potential Proteas in the future. This group will only be selected once the franchises have completed the contracting of their players."

The board also approved a request from Lorgat to consider multi-year contracts.

The CSA also announced a final one-year contract for Jacques Kallis to recognise his immense contribution to South African cricket over a long period of time and to secure his availability for the ODI squad.

This contract does not form part of the 17-man national list as it is a special contract with specific terms.

"We are well aware of the incredible stature of Jacques and his personal desire to play in next year's ICC World Cup. We want to help him as best as we can," added Lorgat.


Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras)

Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions)

AB de Villiers (Titans),

JP Duminy (Cape Cobras)

Faf du Plessis (Titans)

Imran Tahir (Highveld Lions)

Rory Kleinveldt (Cape Cobras)

Ryan McLaren (Knights)

David Miller (Dolphins)

Morne Morkel (Titans)

Wayne Parnell (Warriors)

Alviro Petersen (Highveld Lions)

Robin Peterson (Cape Cobras)

Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras)

Graeme Smith (Cape Cobras)

Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras)

Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Highveld Lions)