Proteas name squad to face Australia

Wayne Parnell and Ryan McLaren replace Jacques Kallis and Imran Tahir in the Proteas Test squad.

The Proteas face off against Australia in a three-match Test series in February. Picture:

CAPE TOWN - Ryan Mclaren and Wayne Parnell have been added to the Proteas Test squad for the upcoming three-match Test Series against Australia.

Parnell and McLaren, who both made their debuts in the same Test match against England at the Wanderers Stadium in 2010, replace Imran Tahir and the retired Jacques Kallis in the fifteen man squad.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) convenor of selectors Andrew Hudson said the chosen squad provides the team with several options, adding that the personnel are able to adapt well to what ever match conditions the team might face on the pitch.

"We want to stay constant to the brand of cricket we have played over the last few years that has brought us such success. I believe that this squad covers all possible options we may wish to exercise as well as the conditions we are likely to encounter."

Beuran Hendricks, one of the stars of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras team leading the way in this year's Ram Slam T20 Challenge, and Chevrolet Warriors all-rounder Simon Harmer, have been called into the squad to assist with the team's preparation ahead of the first Test.

"They are both highly talented cricketers who will benefit from being introduced to the Proteas environment. They also possess individual skills that will assist the team with their preparation for the Australian attack we are likely to face."

The first Test starts on 12 February at Supersport Park in Centurion.

The Proteas Test squad to face Australia:

Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robbie Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, and Thami Tsolekile.

Australian tour schedule to South Africa:

5-8 February: Australia v SA Invitation XI, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

12-16 February: First Sunfoil Test match, SuperSport Park, Centurion

20-24 February: Second Sunfoil Test match, Axxess St. George's, Port Elizabeth

1-5 March: Third Sunfoil Test match, Sahara Park Newlands, Cape Town

9 March: First KFC T20 International, Axxess St. George's, Port Elizabeth (Day)

12 March: Second KFC T20 International, Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, Durban (Day/night)

14 March: Third KFC T20 International, SuperSport Park, Centurion (Day/night)