SA footballers snubbed for African awards

Pirates stars not nominated for the African Player of the Year - Based in Africa Award.

Pirates players' efforts have not been recognised on a continental scale. Picture: Orlando Pirates official Facebook page.

CAPE TOWN - The final shortlists for the 2013 African Player of the Year and the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) have been released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), with the stars of Orlando Pirates' march to the CAF Champions League final nowhere to be seen.

Senzo Meyiwa, Daine Klate and Lennox Bacela were on the initial shortlist for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award, but all three have failed to make the final five-man nominations.

As winners of the 2013 Africa Cup on Nations, Nigerians dominate the final shortlist. Striker Ahmed Musa won the Russian League, League Cup and Super Cup with his club CSKA Moscow and has already scored five times in the latest Russian season. He is joined on the shortlist by fellow countrymen Emmanuel Emenike, John Obi Mikel and Vincent Enyeama.

Reigning African Player of the Year and Manchester City star Yaya Toure is joined by fellow Ivorian and two-time winner Didier Drogba on the list.

The other nominees are Ghanaian Asamoah Gyan, Borussia Dortmund winger Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Gabon, Burkina Faso forward Jonathan Pitroipa and Egyptian legend Mohamed Aboutrika, who features on both lists by virtue of his performances for Egyptian side Al Ahly.

The final five nominees for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award are Al Ahly utility man Ahmed Fathy, Zambian Rainford Kalaba, Nigerian Cup of Nations star Sunday Mba, TP Mazembe hitman Tresor Mputu and the aforementioned Mohamed Aboutrika.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala, scheduled to take place on Thursday 9 January 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Ivorian Yaya Toure is the reigning African Player of the Year, while Mohamed Aboutrika of Egypt holds the title of African Player of the Year (Based in Africa).