SA Sport Awards nominees announced

This year’s Sport Star of the Year will win a car and R1 million.

Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula

JOHANNESBURG - The nominees for this year's South African Sports Awards were announced on Wednesday morning.

A list of top class athletes have been identified, with the Sports Star of the Year set to win a car and R1 million in cash.

The Sport Man of the Year category will be contested by Bafana Bafana captain Itumeleng Khune, Proteas star Hashim Amla and Olympic gold-medalist Cameron Van der Burgh.

In 2011, Amla walked away with Sports Star of the Year award.

Mapaseka Makhanya, Lee-Anne Pace and Mandisa Williams are up for the Sport Woman of the Year award, while the Proteas, Kaizer Chiefs and South African Rugby have been nominated for the Team of the Year.

Talk Radio 702 Walk The Talk has also been nominated for the Recreational Body of the Year award, with Sibusiso Vilane and Transplant also in contention for the award.

Olympic and Commonwealth Games champion Chad le Clos has been nominated for the Sport Star of the Year, while Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer was nominated for Coach of the Year award.

The awards ceremony will take place next month at Sun City where all the big winners will be unveiled.