Strauss, du Preez to start for Boks

Coach Heyneke Meyer made two changes to the side that lost to the All Blacks in Auckland.

Springbok player Adriaan Strauss. Christa van der Walt/EWN.

CAPE TOWN - Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer on Wednesday announced that Adriaan Strauss and Fourie du Preez will start ahead of Bismarck du Plessis and Ruan Pienaar when the Springboks take on Australia at Newlands on Saturday.

These are the only two changes to the side that lost to New Zealand in Auckland.

The moves were widely expected due to Meyer's rotational system.

The Bok coach said the decision to have Strauss and du Preez start in this game was made a few weeks ago.

"The players all knew what the plans were for the Rugby Championships and where they stand. We were always going to rotate players where possible and planned to start this Test with Adriaan and Fourie.

"We know we're in for a big challenge against Australia. The players have been working very hard and we're looking forward to playing in front of our own supporters at DHL Newlands on Saturday - it's always special to play tests in South Africa," added Meyer.

Jannie du Plessis and Morné Steyn will play in their 50th tests for South Africa on Saturday and Meyer said it's a tremendous achievement for the players.

"We're all very pleased for Jannie and Morné, who are great ambassadors for South Africa and the Springboks.

"They have endured through difficult times but have shown a lot of resilience, that is why they have made it to this special milestone. It's well-deserved and a privilege only a very small percentage of Springboks have achieved."

The Springbok team to face Australia on Saturday:

15 Zane Kirchner 14 Willie le Roux 13 JJ Engelbrecht 12 Jean de Villiers (captain) 11 Bryan Habana 10 Morné Steyn 9 Fourie du Preez 8 Duane Vermeulen 7 Willem Alberts 6 Francois Louw 5 Flip van der Merwe 4 Eben Etzebeth 3 Jannie du Plessis 2 Adriaan Strauss 1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Bismarck du Plessis 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp 18 Coenie Oosthuizen 19 Juandré Kruger 20 Siya Kolisi 21 Ruan Pienaar 22 Pat Lambie 23 Jan Serfontein