IRB admits Poite was wrong
The IRB confirmed that it was incorrect for Poite to issue a yellow card to du Plessis.
CAPE TOWN - In a media release the International Rugby Board (IRB) today confirmed that Romaine Poite made a mistake when he issued a yellow card to Bismarck du Plessis in the 17th minute of the Rugby Championship match between New Zealand and South Africa on Saturday.
Du Plessis was adjudged to have tackled Dan Carter high and with no arms by Poite who had the incident played on the big screen during the match.
Du Plessis received a second yellow card early in the second half which resulted in his ceasing to play any further role in the game.
The IRB said "Just as players and coaches make mistakes, the decision was an unfortunate case of human error by the match officials, who, having reviewed the match, fully recognise and accept that they made a mistake in the application of law."
"All match official performances are thoroughly reviewed and assessed by the IRB and are considered when appointments are made for future test matches."
Du Plessis is required to appear before a SANZAR Judicial Hearing on Tuesday 17 September.