Reshuffle will speed up change - Zuma

President Jacob Zuma says his fourth Cabinet reshuffle is aimed at improving service delivery.

FILE: President Jacob Zuma says his fourth Cabinet reshuffle is aimed at improving service delivery. Picture: GCIS

CAPE TOWN/JOHANNESBURG - Changes made to the Cabinet will help speed up change within government, President Jacob Zuma said on Tuesday.

He made the comments shortly after announcing his Cabinet reshuffle at the Union Buildings in Pretoria.

This is Zuma's fourth reshuffle since he became president in 2009.

The president said the move is aimed at taking South Africa forward.

"Twenty years of democracy have changed the face of our country and the last five years have pushed that change forward."

Zuma sacked three ministers and swopped two portfolios.

Various Members of Parliament (MPs) were also promoted.

Tuesday's move could be seen as an 11th hour bid to improve service delivery and show he is serious about fighting corruption ahead of the 2014 general elections.


Communications Minister Dina Pule was axed from her post following several investigations against her.

She is being probed by Public Protector Thuli Madonsela and Parliament's ethics committee.

According to reports, Pule's romantic partner earned millions from an Information Communication Technologies (ICT) Indaba hosted by her department in 2012.

It is believed her department pressured organisers to hire Phosane Mngqibisa's company to assist with the major event at a cost of R6 million.

Human Settlements Minister Tokyo Sexwale also got the axe.

He led a challenge to depose Zuma from the position of ANC president during the ruling party's Mangaung conference in December.

Richard Baloyi, deemed less that effective while in charge of the Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Department, is also out.

While speculation was rife that Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga would also get the chop, this did not happen.

Zuma recently defended the way she was handling her portfolio, despite numerous scandals within the department.

Motshekga is also a close ally of Zuma.

At the same time, Thulas Nxesi is still in charge of the Public Works Department after dealing with the Nkandla scandal.

Fikile Mbalula will stay on in his portfolio, despite opposing Zuma at the December conference.

The new ministers will be sworn in on Wednesday.


Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs - Lechesa Tsenoli (Previously Richard Baloyi)

Minister of Human Settlements - Connie September (Previously Tokyo Sexwale)

Minister of Communications - Yunus Carrim (Previously Dina Pule)

Minister of Energy - Ben Martins (Previously Dipuo Peters)

Minister of Transport - Dipuo Peters (Previously Ben Martins)


Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development - John Jeffery (Previously Andries Nel)

Deputy Minister of Science and Technology - Michael Masutha (Previously Derek Hanekom)

Deputy Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs - Andries Nel (Previously Yunus Carrim)

Deputy Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform - Pamela Tshwete (Previously Lechesa Tsenoli)