Four ANCYL provinces disbanded

Limpopo, Free State, North West and the Northern Cape are to be disbanded.

The ANC Youth League logo. Picture: Supplied

JOHANNESBURG - A task team managing the affairs of the ANC Youth League (ANCYL) on Monday announced its decision to disband four provincial charters in order to stabilise the organisation.

A briefing was held at Luthuli House earlier.

Task team leader Mzwandile Masina said, "The meeting of the task team has taken a decision to disband four provinces. That is Limpopo, Free State, North West and the Northern Cape."

He said provincial structures in the Western Cape, KwaZulu-Natal and Mpumalanga were already disbanded, while assessments were underway in Gauteng and the Eastern Cape.

The task team also admitted the league is at its weakest point since being unbanned and is a mere shadow of its former self.

The task team was set up in April following the ANC's decision to disband the league due to political infighting.