Nigeria crowned 2013 Afcon champions

The Super Eagles beat Burkina Faso 1-0 to lift up the Afcon trophy for the third time.

Nigeria were crowned 2013 Afcon champions after beating Burkina Faso 1-0 at the National Stadium in Johannesburg on 10 February 2013. Picture: AFP

JOHANNESBURG - Nigeria were crowned 2013 Afcon winners after beating Burkina Faso 1-0 at the National Stadium in Johannesburg on Sunday.

The only goal in the game came from Sunday Mba who put Nigeria ahead in the 40th minute after a persistent run and an effort which gave the Burkinane keeper no chance.

The Super Eagles dominated ball possession throughout the entertaining match which had fans at the edge of their seats.

Victor Moses and Brown Ideye had chances to extend the lead, but their attempts failed to find the target.

In the second half, Arsitide Bance almost scored for Burkina Faso, but Vincent Enyeama made a fingertip save to a shot that could have been the equaliser.

Nigeria will now represent the African continent at the Confederations Cup in Brazil later this year.


Nigeria were the firm favourites going into the tournament and they proved just that by scooping their third Afcon title.

The team have now won the tournament in 1980, 1994 and 2013.

Coach Stephen Keshi made history by becoming the second man to win Africa's top football prize as both a player and coach, matching the feat of Egyptian Mahmoud Al Gohari.

Keshi was Nigeria's captain when they last lifted the trophy.

Despite their heavyweight status, The Super Eagles made it clear they saw the tournament in South Africa as a chance to develop a new winning team.


Nigeria: Vincent Enyeama, Elderson Echiejile, Kenneth Omeruo, Godfrey Oboabona, Efe Ambrose, Ogenyi Onanzi, John Obi Mikel, Sunday Mba, Victor Moses, Brown Ideye, Ikechukwu Uche

Burkina Faso: Daouda Diakite, Mohamed Koffi, Bakary Kone, Paul Koulibaly, Mady Panandetiguiri, Djakaridja Kone, Charles Kabore, Florent Rouamba, Prejuce Nakoulma, Jonathan Pitroipa and Aristide Bance