Nenzani to lead new CSA board

Cricket South Africa has appointed a new board at its annual general meeting on Saturday afternoon.

Cricket SA logo. Picture: www.Cricket SA website

JOHANNESBURG - Chris Nenzani has been appointed as the new president of Cricket South Africa CSA, and Doctor Peter Cyster as his deputy.

Nenzani, who is president of Border Cricket, was expected to be named the new president of CSA.

The sports body held its annual general meeting on Saturday afternoon, where a new board was elected.

A compromise was reached with sports governing body the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) about the independent members of the board.

The split that was agreed upon, was one that saw the non-independents outnumber the rest of the board by seven members to five.

Nenzani has asked the South African public to put its faith behind the new board, as it looked to restore pride in South African cricket.


The other five non-independent directors that were elected are Andy O'Connor, Beresford Williams, Graeme Sauls, Fa-eez Jaffar and Rihan Richards.

Meanwhile, the five independent directors are Advocate Norman Arendse, Dawn Mokhobo, Vusi Pikoli, Louis von Zeuner and Mohamed Iqbal Khan.

Of these, von Zeuner, Pikoli and Iqbal Khan will make up the audit committee, with von Zeuner as the chairperson.