Zuma retains ANC presidency

Jacob Zuma retains ANC Presidency while Cyril Ramaphosa was elected as Deputy President.

The ANC's newly elected Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa with re-elected ANC President Jacob Zuma, in Mangaung. Picture: Taurai Maduna/EWN.

MANGAUNG - Jacob Zuma has retained his position as ANC President with a landslide victory over his former deputy, Kgalema Motlanthe.

Zuma won 2984 votes in comparison to Motlanthe's 991 votes.

The hotly contested Deputy President's seat went to Cyril Ramaphosa who received outstanding support and collected a massive 3018 votes.

Fellow contenders Matthews Phosa got 470 votes while Tokyo Sexwale received 463 votes.

This means a return to front line politics for the mining magnet after he had a falling out with former president Thabo Mbeki and resigned from politics.

Baleka Mbeta retained her position as National Chairperson after receiving 3010 votes while her opponent, North West Premier Thandi Modise, received 939 votes.

Secretary General's position stayed with Gwede Mantashe who got 3058 votes compared to Sport's Minister Fikile Mbalula's 901 votes.

Jessie Duarte was elected to the position of Deputy Secretary General.

And finally, the Treasurer General's position went to KwaZulu-Natal Premier Zweli Mkhize who went head to head with Arts and Culture Minister, Paul Mashatile.

Mkhize received 2988 votes while Mashatile received 961.

The new top six remains the same except for two changes: Ramaphosa replaces Motlanthe and Mkhize replaces Phosa.

Throughout the announcement of the election results, supporters of the Zuma slate sang and danced in celebration making it a difficult task for electoral officials to announce the results.

There were a total of 3977 valid votes.

The party will now continue it's conference by discussing policy in closed sessions.