11 killed in Drakensberg plane crash

The SANDF said former president Nelson Mandela's medical team was not on the plane.

A SAAF Dakota C47 plane Picture: DC-3.co.za/Jens Frischmuth

PRETORIA - The South Africa National Defence Force (SANDF) on Thursday confirmed all 11 people on board the Dakota DC3 C47 plane, which went down in the Drakensberg, were killed in the crash.

The defence force clarified that members of former president Nelson Mandela's medical team were not among the victims.

Six crew members and five passengers were on board the aircraft, which left the Waterkloof Air Force base in Pretoria on Wednesday, en route Umtata in the Eastern Cape.

The SANDF said a board of inquiry was convened to investigate the circumstances surrounding the crash.

The defence force also released the names of the victims:

Crew Members

Major K. Misrole

Captain Z.M. Smith

Sergeant B.K. Baloyi

Sergeant E. Boes

Sergeant J.M Mamabolo

Corporal L. Mofokeng


Sergeant L. Sobantu

Corporal N.W. Khomo

Corporal A. Matlaila

Corporal M.J. Mthomben

Lance Corporal N.K. Aphane