Ntubeni wins WP award

WP hooker walked away with the most promising player award.

Scarra Ntubeni. Picture: Facebook

CAPE TOWN - Western Province hooker Scarra Ntubeni picked up the award for most promising player at the teams awards held on Wednesday night.

The annual awards ceremony was held at Kelvin Grove on Wednesday 17 October, with the Western Province Rugby Football Union recognising all club performances within the union and also rewarding those professional players who have performed well in 2012.

Ntubeni said it was an honour to win the award that other great players have also won.

"I feel very honoured to get this award. I'm looking at a few of the names of the guys who got this award and I'm very happy, hopefully I can carry on with the good form for the semis."

He starts in Saturday's Currie Cup semi final against the Lions, coming in for the injured Tiaan Liebenberg.

Ntubeni said he prides himself on his accuracy.

"You know, you do homework on the team, you play your games and you sort of know when and where to run. It helps a lot because the coaches do a lot of homework, they tell us where we should be striking and stuff like that."

Bryan Habana picked up the best backline player award.

Western Province backline player of the year Bryan Habana said the management structures at the union must get the credit for his success in the past year.

"To be able to repay the faith they've shown in me when it could have been so easy not to stick with me I think is a great reward. You work hard and you put the extra effort in off the field but you need the support of your management team."


Women's Player of the Year: Chantel Sieckers

U19 Best Forward: Justin Benn

U19 Best Back: Justin Geduld

Most Promising U19 Player: Sti Sithole

U21 Best Forward: Francois van Wyk

U21 Best Back: Devon Williams

Most Promising U21 Player: Player Josh Katzen

Best Forward: Eben Etzebeth

Best Back: Bryan Habana

Most Promising Senior Player: Scarra Ntubeni

Clubs' Player of the Year: Alconroy Botha

Adidas MVP Award: Deon Fourie

Players' Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth