Mbalula clarifies Afcon confusion

Cities that don’t host Afcon games in 2013 will host the African Nations Championship.

Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula. Picture: EWN.

JOHANNESBURG - Cities that do not host African Cup of Nations (Afcon) games in 2013 will host the African Nations Championship in 2014, Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula announced on Friday.

Rustenberg, Nelspruit, Port Elizabeth and Durban will host the Afcon tournament.

The opening and final games will be held at Johannesburg's FNB stadium in Soweto.

Mbalula said they have worked out money problems for next year's tournament.

"We have agreed with the [South African Football Association] to share some of the gate takings with the Confederation of African Football (CAF) and host cities."

Earlier, Cabinet officially confirmed that South Africa will host the tournament.

It was initially scheduled to take place Libya, but was moved due to security concerns following the Libyan uprising.